International American Council

International American Council
Middle East and North Africa




Official name: Kingdom of Morocco

Capital city: Rabat. Most populated city is Casablanca

Area: 446,550 square kilometers (172,413 square miles), slightly larger than California. The disputed territory of Western Sahara comprises another 267,028 square kilometers or 102,703 square miles

Population: 32.8 million

People: Most Moroccans are of mixed Arab-Berber, Arab, Berber and Niger-Congo ethnic background. Arabs and Berbers make up about 99.1% of the Moroccan population

Languages: Morocco’s official languages are Arabic and Berber. The Berber language is spoken in three dialects (Tarifit, Tashelhit and Central Atlas Tamazight). French functions as the language of business, government, and diplomacy

Religions: The population of Morocco is 98.7% Muslim, 1.1% Christian, and 0.2%

Currency: Moroccan dirham

Government type: Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy

U.S. – Morocco relations:

In 1777, Morocco became the first country to seek diplomatic relations with the Government of the United States and remains one of the U.S.’s oldest and closest allies in the region. Formal U.S. relations with Morocco date from 1787, when the two nations negotiated a Treaty of Peace and Friendship. Renegotiated in 1836, the treaty is still in force, constituting the longest unbroken treaty relationship in U.S. history. A key partner in promoting security and stability in the region, Morocco is a major non-NATO ally, contributes to UN-lead multilateral peacekeeping operations, and participates with U.S. forces in major bilateral exercises on the African continent.


Reference: U.S. State Department

Morocco Archives

  • RSS Latest News – Recent Posts

  • RSS Latest News – World

  • Question Poll

  • International American Council

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • © International American Council 1995 - 2021